Menu
BackPack Food
GA boy
Campaign BP2


THE BACKPACK PROGRAM


Filling the Gap So Children Won't Go Hungry Over Weekends

We believe that no child should ever go hungry. Yet, many children who receive free and reduced priced school meals are left without the nutrition they need on weekends and holiday breaks when school is not in session. By providing children who are at risk of hunger with a bag of nutritious food each Friday throughout the school year, the BackPack Program attempts to reduce this gap and help children return to school on Monday ready to learn. 


 
Children in the BackPack Program receive nutritious, kid-friendly food!

  •     Individually packaged
  •     Small and light enough to carry
  •     Shelf stable
  •     Easy to prepare - even without a stove (or in some cases a can opener)
  •     Not going to break (no glass jars)
  •     Each pack contains at least 8 items: 2 Proteins, 2 Grains, 2 Dairy & 2 Fruits or Vegetables

You can help. It's as easy as 1-2-3!

1. Volunteer to help repack donated items into the packs for distribution.
2. Donate to help sustain the program, or help expand the program to more children.
3. Host a food drive with your group to collect items from the BackPack Program Wish List.

Interested in enrolling your child in the BackPack Program?
Please contact the BackPack coordinator for your school districted listed below. If you do not see a coordinator listed, please contact your district directly and ask to speak with the BackPack coordinator. Every district in the Food Bank's service area participates in the BackPack Program.

Broome
Harpursville: Darlene Noyes
607-693-8112
DNoyes@hcs.stier.org

Windsor: Andrea Hudock
607-655-8257
Ahudock@btboces.org 

Chemung
Elmira City: Derek Almy
607-735-3040
dalmy@elmiracityschools.com

Schuyler
Watkins Glen: Jessica Karius
607-535-3250 x1454
jkarius@wgcsd.org

Steuben
Corning-Painted Post:
 Wendy Rosenwinkel
607-936-3704 x1053
wrosenwinkel@gstboces.org

Tioga
Newark: Loraine Trotman
(607)642-8606
ltrotman@nvcs.stier.org

Tioga: Nancy Eckstrom
607-687-8006 x2
NEckstro@tiogacentral.org

Tompkins
Groton: Trina Luttinger
607-898-4524
tluttinger@groton.cnyric.org


For more information contact:
Jennifer Edger, Director of Community Programs
at 607.796.6061 x4037 or email jedger@feedingamerica.org

CONTACT US
388 Upper Oakwood Ave.
Elmira, New York 14903

Phone: 607.796.6061
Fax: 607.796.6028
Hours: Mon.-Fri. 8-4

E-Newsletter Sign-up
Facebook Twitter YouTube


  

  

©2017 FBST. All Rights Reserved.

A regional agency of Catholic Charities and a member of Feeding America.

Responsive Website by inCommand Technologies