Menu
BackPack Food
Two Boys
Kids Farmers Market
Summer Food Service Program

Food for Kids

The Food Bank has a number of programs that directly serve children. 41% of kids in our service area face food insecurity and its our mission to help families struggling with hunger get access to meals for their kids all year round. 

Kids' Farmers Market     Summer Meals     BackPack Program

Kids' Farmers Market


What is Kids' Farmers Market?
The Kids' Farmers Market program provides free vegetables in a farmers market-style set up to allow kids to "shop" for vegetables they like or haven't tried yet. The Kids' Farmers Markets are held across the Southern Tier during the summer at free Summer Meals sites and during the school year at some after-school programs. 

Find Kids' Farmers Markets in your county here: 

Chemung
Schuyler
Steuben
Tioga

For more information contact:
Shanté Tranchant, Youth Programs Coordinator, 607.796.6061 x4024 or click here to email

back to top

Summer Food Service Program


What is Summer Food Service? 
Also known as Summer Meals, children and teens (18 years and under) are welcome at open meal sites across our region (like parks and community centers) to eat healthy and nutritious free meals and snacks. There is no registration or paperwork required! At many sites, programs, activities, and fun are also offered to kids and their families!

Find a 2017 open meal site near you:

Broome County 
(click above to download the flyer)
View an interactive map at FeedBroome.org
Like Broome County Child Hunger Task Force on Facebook for updates all summer

Chemung County
(click above to download the flyer)
View an interactive map at FeedChemung.org
Like Chemung County Free Summer Meals for Kids on Facebook for updates all summer

Schuyler County
(click above to download the flyer)
Like Schuyler County Free Summer Meals for Kids on Facebook for updates all summer

Steuben County
(click above to download the flyer)
Like Steuben County Free Summer Meals for Kids on Facebook for updates all summer

Tioga County
(click above to download the flyer)
View an interactive summer meal site map at FeedTioga.org
Like Tioga County Anti-Hunger Task Force on Facebook for updates all summer

Tompkins County
(click above to download the flyer)
Like Tompkins County Free Summer Meals for Kids on Facebook for updates all summer

For more information contact:
Jennifer Bertron, Child Nutrition Programs Navigator, 607.796.6061 x4056 or click here to email

back to top

Backpack Program


What is the BackPack Program?
Children in the BackPack Program receive packs of nutritious, kid-friendly food on Fridays and before holiday breaks at school. The BackPack program helps ensure that every child returns to school ready to learn. 

Interested in enrolling your child in the BackPack Program?
Please contact the BackPack Coordinator for your school district listed below. If you do not see a coordinator listed, please contact your district directly and ask to speak with the BackPack Coordinator. Every district in the Southern Tier participates in the BackPack Program.

Find your school district by county: Broome, Chemung, Schuyler, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins

Broome

Binghamton: Patrick Walsh
pwalsh3@btboces.org
607-762-8120

Chenango Forks: Stephanie Schramm
schramms@cforks.org
607-648-7580

Chenango Valley:
David Gill dgill@cvcsd.stier.org or Michelle Feyerabend mfeyerabend@cvcsd.stier.org
607-762-6811

Deposit: Lori Wheeler 
lwheeler@deposit.stier.org      
607-467-5507

Harpursville: Darlene Noyes   
dnoyes@hcs.stier.org  
607-693-8112

Johnson City: Paul Cerasaro
pcerasaro@jcschools.stier.org 
607-763-1216

Maine-Endwell: Steve Klock
sklock@btboces.org   
607-786-8211

Susquehanna Valley: Sandy Travis
stravis@svsabers.org
607-775-9154

Union-Endicott: Pamela Riddleberger
priddleb@uek12.org
607-658-7130

Vestal: Erin Polovchak
epolovch@btboces.org
607-757-2241

Whitney Point: Emma Irwin
eirwin@wpcsd.org
607-692-8276

Windsor: Andrea Hudock
ahudock@btboces.org
607.655.8257

Chemung

Elmira City: Debbie Knoll
dknoll@elmiracityschools.com
607-735-3040

Elmira Heights: Michelle Dougherty
mdoughterty@gstboces.org     
607-733-5854

Horseheads: Kelly Bennett
kbennett@horseheadsdistrict.com
607-739-5601 x2740

GST BOCES: Deb Hyde
dhyde@gstboces.org
607.739.3581

 

Schuyler

Odessa-Montour: Debbie Switzer
dswitzer@gstboces.org
607-594-3341 x 3902

Watkins Glen: Jessica Karius
jkarius@wgcsd.org
607-535-3220 x 1616

 

Steuben

Addison: Laurie Friends
lfriends@addisoncsd.org
607-359-2261 x 1226

Avoca: Paula Pimm
ppimm@avocacsd.org
607-566-2221 x1113

Bath: Jeannie Wheeler
jwheeler@bathcsd.org
607-776-4123 x5626

Bradford: Julie O'rourke
jorourke@bradfordcsd.org
607-583-4616

Campbell-Savona: Melody DeCamp
mdecamp@cscsd.org
607-527-9800 ext 3106

Canisteo-Greenwood: Paula Quanz
pquanz@cgcsd.org
607-698-4225 ext 2417

Corning-Painted Post: Brian Rook
brook@gstboces.org
607-936-3704 ext 1054

Hammondsport: Tad Rounds
trounds@hport.wnyric.org
607-569-5200

Hornell City: Tim Swisher
tswisher@gstboces.org
607-324-1302 x1570

Jasper-Troupsburg: Michelle Terwilliger
mterwilliger@jtcsd.org
607-525-6301

Prattsburgh: Amy Shick
shickal@prattsburghcsd.org
607-522-6211

Wayland-Cohocton: Julie Snaith
jsnaith@wccsk12.org
585-384-5234

 

Tioga

Candor: Katie Volpicelli
kvolpicelli@candorcs.org
607-659-3935

Newark Valley: Lorraine Trotman
ltrotman@nvcs.stier.org
607-642-8606

Owego-Apalachin: Jennifer Potter
potterj@oacsd.org
607-687-7303 x3056

Spencer-Van Etten: Amy Bishop
abishop@svecsd.org
607-589-7110

Tioga: Kristy Robertson
krobertson@tiogacentral.org
607-687-8006 x2

Waverly: Kelly Goodwin
kgoodwin@gstboces.org
607-565-8101 x1151

Tompkins

Dryden: Ellen Stelick
estelic1@dryden.k12.ny.us    
607-844-8694 Ext. 1424

Groton: Trina Luttinger
tluttinger@groton.cnyric.org
607-898-4524

Ithaca City: Denise Agati
dagati@icsd.k12.ny.us
607-274-2302

Lansing: Laura May
lmay@lcsd.k12.ny.us
607-533-3020 ext 1120

Newfield: Missy Rynone
mrynone@newfieldschools.org
607-564-9955

Trumansburg: Sara Seifert
sseifert@tburg.k12.ny.us
607-387-2827

TST BOCES: David Barr
dbarr@tstboces.org
607-257-1551

For more information about the BackPack Program contact:
Shanté Tranchant, Youth Programs Coordinator, 607.796.6061 x4024 or click here to email

back to top


HELP BEYOND FOOD
For more information, dial 2-1-1 (or 1-800-346-2211) or visit www.211helpline.org.
You might be eligible to receive monthly food assistance through SNAP (food stamps). Click here to learn more, or call 607-796-5592.

This institution is an equal opportunity provider and employer.

CONTACT US
388 Upper Oakwood Ave.
Elmira, New York 14903

Phone: 607.796.6061
Fax: 607.796.6028
Hours: Mon.-Fri. 8-4 
(Summer hours Mon.-Thurs. 8-4:30; Fri. 8-1)

Privacy Policy

E-Newsletter Sign-up
Facebook Twitter YouTube


  

  

©2017 FBST. All Rights Reserved.

A regional agency of Catholic Charities and a member of Feeding America.

Responsive Website by inCommand Technologies